Golden Prague in October

I have special love for one of the most beautiful cities in the world, Prague and sunny autumns. I’ve had the fortune of visiting Prague in three different seasons (spring, winter and autumn) so far and I discovered that the beauty of the city truly shines with each season.

Last weekend when I visited, we were blessed with a gorgeous 20+ degree temperature for the entire two days. The autumn colors of the city came fully alive in the warm sunshine.

IMG_20171014_090237

This time, we managed to visit some places that we hadn’t been to before. A morning walk to the Visehrad castle proved to be delightful as it had excellent view points and serene parks all around it. Even though we didn’t actually go inside the castle, we enjoyed walking in the area soaking up the warm morning sun.

IMG_20171014_090611.jpg

Then we walked down to the river, on the banks of which a farmer’s market was taking place. We found some Sri Lankan food there and reminisced our Sri Lanka vacation last year as we tasted its distinct flavors.

IMG_20171014_101514.jpg

Next up was walking along the river towards the city center. Beautiful weather, happy faces and a pleasant atmosphere.

During the evening, we met a Nepali online friend whom I met through blog. What an amazing thing blogging is! We went to see the light festival (called SIGNAL) in different places in Prague and had a great time. By the end of the day, my feet were exhausted.

IMG_20171014_113600.jpg

The next day started with a visit to Letna park and an outdoor picnic (beer and chips 😉 ).. The views of Prague from the park are incredible.

IMG_20171014_115217
Crisp in the fall
IMG_20171015_130852.jpg
View from Letna park

The next few hours were spent outdoors soaking in the autumn atmosphere..

IMG_20171015_133248

Prague was really a perfect city break last weekend and I loved going to the places we hadn’t been to before, enjoying relaxing time outdoors, trying out different foods, and experiencing the local feel of Prague.

IMG_20171015_161744
Picture perfect Prague in autumn

 


42 thoughts on “Golden Prague in October

      1. You’re welcome! Thanks for sharing and inspiring us. Just did Slovenia, croatia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Would love to fit Prague into the beginning of a trip down the eastern Danube (Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia, Romania, and Bulgaria). Have you been to any of those places?

      2. I am so glad that I did! I have just been to the first three countries on the list. Been to Vienna once and then a quick stop in Graz, while passing through Austria on our road trip last year. Gorgeous mountainous landscapes.
        I’ve been to Slovakia a couple of times, mostly on the mountains near Poland border, but I did stop in Bratislava once. Hungary – Budapest for a day and we drove down the country leading to Croatia. Sounds like you have a great trip coming up! I have always wanted to go to Serbia, Romania and Bulgaria. Hopefully sometime soon!

  1. Was the Sri Lankan food fiery ? I had terrible problems with the spicy food but all in all I loved the food in Sri Lanka. You were so lucky to have that sunshine, Pooja. It could have rained the whole time, like when I visited Vienna. Nice blog and nice pictures, Pooja.

    1. The food we had in Prague was actually adjusted to European taste so it wasn’t fiery at all Dai. 🙂 I really loved the food in Sri Lanka although the level of spiciness was 100 times more than Nepali food. Sometimes it was too much with the hot weather, but Stasiu loved the food despite the weather 😀 We were indeed very lucky with the kind of weather we got last weekend in Prague. Hope you’re doing well today!

      1. Good morning Pooja. I’ve just seen your comment. I’m late. I’ve suffered that fiery spicy food in Sri Lanka too. I was staying in a guesthouse in Cinnamon Gardens in Colombo and the house owner told me to add grated coconut to reduce the spicyness. It worked but the food was still far too spicy for me. I’m having a neutral weekend, Pooja. I’m using my extra hour tonight to catch up in WordPress. Did you also put your clocks back this morning ? Have a nice weekend my friend.

  2. Now this is one city I have always wanted to visit. Our next Europe trip will definitely have to include this amazing city!!
    Oh I did not know you enjoyed Sri Lankan cuisine! If you ever make it here to Melbourne I will have to cook you up one of my Sri Lankan curries…. Xx 🙂

    1. You should definitely visit the city! 😀 Oh do you have Sri Lankan roots? That is so cool! We had a great time in SL last year, especially the fiery food. Melbourne might be a long way from me but who knows maybe I’ll make it there someday 🙂

  3. I went to Prague in the very beginning of October two years in a row, but the leaves had never started to change! It still looked very summery. Nice to have the combination of good weather and pretty colors.

  4. So beautiful! Isn’t autumn just great?! Can you get to Prague really easily from Poland since you’ve been so many times? Has it always been crowded with tourists each season you visited? I’ve never been, would love to go! Lovely post, Pooja! 💕

    1. Thank you 🙂 It’s about 8 hours bus ride from the city where I live, and about 6 hours by car. Not that bad at all 🙂 Prague is quite crowded in the touristy areas in all seasons but I surprisingly still love it. You should definitely give it a visit! 🙂

  5. BTW, you forgot to mention about the delicious (not!) beer cheese 😂😂
    It was nice to meet you and show you around the city though ☺️

  6. Great post and awesome pictures! I was in Prague during the last week of October 2017. Enjoyed every bit of my trip, the fall colors, the aura of Charles bridge, the majestic castle, amazing beers and good food.

Leave a comment