Lodz, Poland and its murals

IMG_20160803_184110

Lodz (Polish spelling ‘Łódź’ , pronounced ‘wutz’), my current home, may not be the most pretty city but I admit that it is one of a kind. There are other cities in Poland which are far more visited and have charming old towns and castles, such as Krakow, Warsaw, Poznan, Gdansk and Wroclaw. But Lodz has its special charm. In the past, Lodz was most notable for its textile industry but now it is a well-known city in Poland for its vibrant film and art scene.

IMG_20160802_163645
What is perhaps the most striking about Lodz are its huge wall murals in various parts of the city. I think that these murals add color to the otherwise gray city. I love how I can walk around in the city and come across new street art each time even after having lived here for over two years.

IMG_20160802_191323

Today I am sharing some of the murals from around city center in Lodz. I am sure I haven’t seen all of them but I do plan to see all major murals in Lodz some time soon.

IMG_20160802_191438
I do not always understand the meaning behind them

IMG_20160803_185819

IMG_20160803_193448

IMG_20160803_193603

My Polish friends tell me that the city has been growing rapidly over the years and so seems to be the street art..

IMG_20160803_192734

IMG_20160803_194219
New discovery of today
IMG_20160803_200149
This one is my favorite but I do not like how there is graffiti on the bottom!
28 thoughts on “Lodz, Poland and its murals

  1. Seems I really should do some longer trip to Poland. Thus far we have only been there when I was really young and then also some competitions. Hopefully next year we will go to the west coast to visit my fathers family old estates and then travel along the coast for a few days

    1. Oh yes, the coastal cities (Gdansk, Sopot) and other towns by the sea are quite popular with tourists.. Many interesting places in Poland to see, although I’m not very sure if Lodz is one of them :p..
      I hope you do visit! 🙂

    1. Thanks! Aren’t they? 🙂 That deer looks amazing in real life! What I like is that many of these colorful murals can be often found on the walls of old buildings that creates an interesting contrast to watch 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing! Nice wall art – the first two are my favorite. Lodz looks like a gray city. Lots of ugly, Soviet-era apartment blocks…but I always find something to like about every city that I visit. I hope to make it there someday!

    -Scott

  3. The murals were my favorite part of Lodz! You’ve got several here that I didn’t even find, and I spent almost 2 days just wandering around looking for them. I read somewhere that the city government paid artists from all over the world to paint the murals? Any idea if that’s true?

    1. I also discovered (and still do) many of them after 2 years of staying in Lodz.. It can be hard for a tourist to find all the murals because they’re scattered all over the city 🙂 Yes, it is true! The city government does pay artists to draw these so they’re legal and a part of city’s efforts. Sometimes you’ll see some info about the artist/mural framed and walled on the bottom of the art.

Leave a Reply

