Roses in Greece

When I spent a week in Greece a couple of weeks ago, my eyes and camera were in for a treat. Since it was mid-spring, flowers were blooming everywhere. Out of them all, I was most drawn to roses, and I was extremely pleased to see roses in a variety of colors while I was there.

32806132_1093606514111663_3234271740104278016_n
Pink was the most common color of rose that I saw in Greece

Roses are my favorite flowers, and feeling their familiar scent as I walked by on the streets and passed by houses in Greece brought my childhood memories back. Growing up in Kathmandu, I always adored seeing flowers that many houses seemed to have in their gardens, but sadly it’s becoming a rarity now.

 

There are about a hundred species of roses and some of them are native to Europe. Rosa gallica is native to southern and central Europe.

32744205_1093606580778323_6124484280170053632_n

In March when I was in Bulgaria, which is one of the major rose producing countries in the world,  I was disappointed in not being able to plan my travels around the rose festival that occurs in rose valley.  But I didn’t know that my relaxing week in Greece would provide me with such opportunity to enjoy and photograph the roses.

32783539_1093606490778332_6844846966833152000_n

One of the many things that I really love about Greece is the ubiquity of colorful flowers. When I visited Crete a few years ago, I was just as delighted by the many flowers on the island.

32831341_1093606554111659_7811311923802144768_n

The owner of the airbnb I stayed in, a nice Greek lady, told me that she was proud of the roses in her garden. I can imagine it not being too easy to grow and tend to these flowers due to the shrubs and thorns presenting a challenge in doing so.

32842185_1093620324110282_8623517168920690688_n.jpg
My Greek host’s garden roses
32847944_1093606550778326_2059893966161051648_n
A tree of bright yellow roses near a village church

I loved coming across all the colors, but the one that stole the show for me was this color:

32720202_1093606500778331_803585104021553152_n
A gorgeous orange rose

I think it might be because I’ve seen orange roses (not on a bouquet!) so few times in my life that it made me very happy to see one, brightening up its surroundings.

If you love roses like I do, then may I recommend watching this fascinating video of a rose blooming:

//Is growing roses popular where you live? What color of roses do you like the most? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂


32 thoughts on “Roses in Greece

  1. Good morning, Pooja. I can remember Kathmandu in the old days, with many more flowers, but now concrete and bricks have replaced the flowers. So sad that it was allowed to happen. My favourite flower is bougainvillea and we have them outside the house in Kathmandu. It’s a great blog, Pooja. Best wishes from Dai

    1. Good morning Dai. Kathmandu used to be so much better just few decades ago. I love bougainvillea too! Used to be many in Kathmandu back in the days. Thanks Dai, I hope you’re enjoying the mid-spring over there in Lisbon.

  2. I’ve been really enjoying your posts on flowers, Pooja. When I was a kid, we used to have a small rose shrub at our backyard. It was small, but I remember my penchant for that flower thanks to its fragrance. After all, rose is what my mom was named after (although her favorite flower is in fact jasmine).

    1. Thank you, Bama. Yes it was the fragrance too that took me back to my childhood, while in Greece. Wow I think it’s lovely that your mother was named after rose – what is the word for rose in your mother tongue? Is it bahasa Indonesia that you speak?

      1. Yes, our national language is Bahasa Indonesia, or as some people simply call it Bahasa. In Bahasa rose is mawar, but my mom’s name has two roses: one in Bahasa and another in Dutch (roos).

  3. I haven’t been to the wonderful Greece yet but I’ve read a lot about the famous place called Meteora and it seems like a worth visiting country, Pooja. The roses are truly mesmerizing!

  4. While I tend to prefer wild flowers to cultivated ones, I find roses beguiling, too, their different colors and many petals, and their sweet fragrance. Sadly, many cultivars have lost the original scent. Thank you for sharing your beautiful floral impression of your trip to Greece, Pooja.

      1. Hi Pooja,
        We have different kinds of wild roses in Colorado and see and smell (!) them regularly on our hikes. The ones in our garden are not the wild, but the cultivated kind.
        Flowery greetings,
        Tanja 🌹

    1. In Greece? I was there at the beginning of May, so a month ago 🙂 Or you’re asking about Poland? In Poland, it’s been great actually. There were some days of rainfall (like all day, tropical monsoon-like) rain, but those were far fewer than the sunny, pleasant ones. Also it might depend on what part of Poland you’re going to, until here in Lodz, it’s been great overall, including today. I hope you’ll catch luck with the weather and have an enjoyable trip ! 🙂

  5. Is there any connection between Nepali women and beautiful roses? My mother is Nepali and she is an anthophile ( of course rose is her favorite) :p

Leave a comment