Flowers of Crete, Greece

I visited Crete, Greece on a short trip last October. Even though it was October, the temperatures were in 20+ and it was pleasantly warm.

I noticed many flowers in Greece that we have in Nepal too. The flowersΒ instantly reminded me of home and brought back happy childhood memories.

IMG_20161010_162626.jpg
Taken on a park in Chania city

I love flowers and I am excited that spring is here. πŸ™‚

IMG_20161010_144845.jpg

These ones are especially my favorite, they are ubiquitous in warmer parts of Nepal.

IMG_20161010_153802.jpg

I saw the white ones of the same kind for the first time.

IMG_20161010_154200.jpg

My absolute favorite has to be these:

IMG_20161010_153002.jpg
They are found everywhere on Greek islands

And a colorful variety too:

IMG_20161010_152941_1477114426272.jpg
My friend and I

Happy spring everyone! πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “Flowers of Crete, Greece

  1. I love bright flowers! We have many of those in California too (although I’m sure they’re not native), plus the landscape, and Crete reminds me so badly of home ❀

    1. Yes, you’re exactly right! They grow in the sub tropical areas in the south and my memories are exactly from those places! πŸ™‚ Few of the flowers I saw in Crete also grow right in Kathmandu, where I’m from. πŸ™‚

      1. Nice memories but in Kathmandu and surrounds, I did also see some Eucalyptus (gumtrees) and Callistemons (bottle brush tree) which I associate more with Australia. That was a surprise for me too!

Leave a Reply

