Some favorite sunset photos

I’ve always loved sunsets, but it’s only been a few years since I make it a point to try to see the sunset whenever I am traveling. Recently in the Philippines we caught some great sunsets over the sea but I thought that along with those photos from the Philippines, I can also share some other sunset photosΒ that are special to me.

FB_IMG_1436203695929
In Porto, Portugal 2013. An unforgettable trip. The sun hasn’t set yet but it was a glorious late afternoon.
IMG_20150613_194432
Ayia Napa, Cyprus on summer, 2015

Sunset behind the mountains is also quite a sight. I love the fiery orange outburst on the sky.

IMG_20150915_182404
Pokhara, Nepal 2015

The next one has a silhouette of my boyfriend while the sun is about to go down the horizon on the background. It’s from summer in 2015 atΒ his parents’ garden house. Many city-dwellers in Poland keep garden house on the suburbs which as the name suggests has garden, plants and trees. We spend many summer days on his parents’ garden home grilling excellent Polish sausages, drinking cold beers, playing games and just having idyllic time.

IMG_20150705_195446
Lodz, Poland

Lodz is in the Central part of Poland and the coast is about 3.5 hours of drive away, so sunsets aren’t as spectacular as you’d find in coastal parts of Poland. The next photo is however memorable to me because it’s from one summer evening where we took walk in the fields near my friend’s house before getting completely wasted on Polish vodkas and terrible homemade liquor on her party.

IMG_20150704_202332
Outskirts of Lodz, Poland

The next one is from Crete island in Greece, a short, very enjoyable trip I took with boyfriend and friends last October. We stopped our rented car on a little hill and watched the sun go down the sea.

IMG_20161008_175127_HDR
Crete, Greece

The next photo is from the same evening on the beach where we had a damn good time.

IMG_20161009_185522
Falassarma beach in Crete, Greece

The next one is a recent photo from Palawan in Philippines. We sat at a bar right at the beach and enjoyed the serene view of sunset from the table.

IMG_20170222_182547
Near El Nido, Philippines

Few more from the Philippines..

IMG_20170228_182951.jpg
El Nido, Palwan
IMG_20170302_183023.jpg
Port Barton, Palawan

// Do you also find sunsets special and try to catch them whenever you can?

48 thoughts on “Some favorite sunset photos

  1. Greetings, Pooja. My favourite picture is ‘El Nidi, Palawan’ It really is a spectacular picture. I;’m having an easy morning, so far anyway. I need to go to the supermarket and I hate that. It’s a gorgeous morning but a bit chilly at 14c and it’s 9 am. Have a nice day my friend.

    1. Hi Dai. It really is, isn’t it. We took the photo in El Nido from a roadside. I am having a good morning too, Dai! Almost weekend – yay πŸ˜€ 14 degrees is chilly hahah. I’ve become so used to this cold, harsh weather that 14 degrees to me sounds like a warm spring day. Although I know in Lisbon it can be chilly. Have a good day today, Dai! Enjoy your day.

  2. Marvelous photos! Although all of them are great (really, it is difficult to choose my favorite haha), the Outskirts of Lodz is the most striking photo. Simply beautiful. Great job πŸ˜‰

  3. These are all great, but I especially like the one of the field in Poland. Something about the plants and waving wheat… so romantic!
    My best sunset shots are probably from Crete, and from Sweden in the summer. The great part about Swedish summer sunsets is you only have to wait a few hours, and you can take a sunrise shot too!

    1. Hehe it was such a random photo I took, it actually turned out quite nice! πŸ™‚ Oh yes in the North I can imagine the sunset and sunrise just a few hours apart! When I lived in Finland for such a long time, I never actually thought about it that way so I missed the opportunity that was so easy! 😦 Oh well.

  4. Oh wow! Lovely photos Pooja, especially the one from El Nido! It’s my favourite too. I can’t imagine life without the beauty of sunsets..and sunrises too. You really captured the spirit in all of this.
    Guess I was right about you, you also have a soft spot about the simple beauties in life- unfiltered!

  5. Wow, incredible photos Pooja! You have such a wonderful blog, btw πŸ™‚ I love traveling so its really nice to see many vacation spots pics on your blog!

  6. These are all absolutely beautiful! What camera do you use take these? I’ve recently just done a post with my own favourite sunset pictures, mine are just shot on an iPhone7, I’ve been looking into to getting a proper camera, what would yo recommend? Thanks in advance!

    1. Hi! All photos except the first one are actually taken from my phone. πŸ™‚ I use my phone for taking photos so I don’t have much idea about cameras! Good luck to you though! πŸ™‚ I am going to check our your sunset photos!

Leave a Reply

