Going to the Philippines, looking for suggestions

This year’s winter break for me is going to be in the Philippines. I’ve been wanting to go there for a long time, so I am happy that it’s finally coming true! It’s also one of the few countries in the world that is visa free for Nepalese passport holders (tourism purposes) which is just great because nobody likes going through grueling visa process for just visiting a country. ๐Ÿ˜‰

p1
Image from pixabay.com

It’s the thousands of pristine islands that attract me the most about Philippines and sure enough I’ve planned to spend all two weeks in what is called the “last ecological frontier” of the Philippines, Palawan. It’s the biggest island in Philippines and is famous for its wild natural beauty.

p2.jpg
Philippines has some of the best beaches in the world. Image from pixabay.com

My boyfriend and I are going to fly out this Saturday morning from Warsaw on a very long flight with stopovers in Amsterdam, Guangzhou and Manila from where we’ll finally board a domestic plane to Palawan. Planning has been very fun like always. It’s the anticipation that builds up from months which I enjoy just as much as the actual travel. I think I’ve done a fair amount of research on the island to know what to expect, and have come up with the itinerary.

Day 1 Arrive in Puerta Princessa, the island’s capital in the evening

Day 2, 3 Island hopping tours in Puerta Princessa, including to the famous Starfish island

Day 4, 5, 6 El Nido on the Northern most part of the island. We’ll do some island hopping tours and kayaking here. We’re also thinking of a day trip to Nacpan beach to catch the sunset! ๐Ÿ˜€

Day 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 I’ve left them unbooked ย to allow some time for going with the flow. Maybe we’ll catch a ferry to nearby spectacular Coron, but not sure how feasible that will be. We’re open to ideas.

Day 12, 13 Port Barton, camping on a small, pretty island. We’ll spend the days in leisure.

Day 14ย Departure flight from Manila to Warsaw with a 13 hours stopover in Guangzhou where we’ll do some sightseeing and Chinese food sampling ๐Ÿ˜€

el nido.jpg
El Nido. Image from pixabay.com

I’ve seen on the weather reports that it’s going to be rainy with thunderstorms for almost our whole stay here, but I really hope it won’t last for whole day. I really do not want to miss the turquoise water which shows the best on sunny days. After all the beach and islands are exactly what we’re chasing fromย halfway across the world on this trip! I and my boyfriend both love being on/in/around/near water.

port.jpg
Sleepy Port Barton in Palawan. Image from pixabay.com

I’ve almost finished packing and I’m more than excited to see the gorgeous country that the Philippines is. Please note that we’ve five days unplanned, so ย if you’ve been to the Philippines and specifically Palawan, feel free to leave suggestions! It’d be great to hear some recommendations if you have any, for Palawan or for the Philippines in general. ๐Ÿ™‚

28 thoughts on “Going to the Philippines, looking for suggestions

  1. Hohoho! Someone is really super excited! Good luck and best of adventure in Ph!

    Hmmm, if there’s a forecast of rains then it’s not a good sign. I remember being in Palawan and its grey and it is NOT OK! But then we managed to enjoy Coron, its still beautiful despite the grey. But then if its sunny, it would be Ammaaaazziiingggg!
    What I hate is the fact that we were stranded in the airport for 2 times ( 3 waste days). First, we were about to land in Coron , we were standing by up in the air but the small airport did not allow us to land because of bad weather! So we our plane flew back to Manila. The 2nd time, we were in the shuttles waiting to board the plane, but then again, we had to re-sched the flight! I was really pissed off of this experience, but I can’t do anything with mother nature. Luckily, on the next day, we managed to reach & land Palawan.

    So I’m telling you, always have a back up plan. Make sure you are flexible so your trip won’t be spoiled.
    I’m looking forward to your stories Pooja! Take care & bring the best bikini that you have! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Oh my you had quite a situation there with landing! I’d be so panicked if that were to happen ๐Ÿ˜ฆ What month of the year did you visit? I am glad that you were at last able to reach there safely and enjoyed your experience.
      I actually read before buying tickets (months ago) that November-March is the best time to visit Palawan, so I thought we had made a wise decision, concerning the weather. I generally don’t trust weather forecast that much on coastal locations as they change all the time, so I will be hopeful for the sun until the day I land there! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Thank you for sharing your experience Christine, we will surely keep that in mind. ๐Ÿ™‚ I will be posting a lot of stories and photos on the blog about Philippines regardless of the weather that’s for sure! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for good wishes! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Oh how nice. Wish we could do that as well and travel to some nice Asian country for several weeks but the price is always what scared us off ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Looking forward already to your posts about the trip, so I can feel at least a bit like holidays while reading it ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. One day I hope you guys can enjoy a nice tropical vacation as a family too! ๐Ÿ™‚ We actually scored pretty cheap tickets – I think it cost us about 415 Euros Warsaw- Manila round trip, probably the reason why we have so many transits, hehe. I will be posting about PH for sure on the blog. Thanks for good wishes, Timo! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi Pooja. I just read this again. Those pictures make me feel nostalgic. As you know, I love the Philippines and those gorgeous islands. I’ve ridden on dozens of those inter island pump boats and sometimes the rides are scary when the sea gets rough. One time we were preparing to leave a tiny port in Sibuyan when our boat started to capsize. All the passengers had to get to the other side of the boat to rectify the situation and then all the cargo was reloaded to keep a better balance. I was worried all the way across the sea for five hours until we reached the safety of Roxas. Not trying to put you off hahaha. I’m looking forward to seeing all your pictures, Pooja.

      1. I look forward to reading about it, Pooja! It is a popular destination here, but then you also hear some bad stories. It sounds like your trip might have been full of good experiences?

      2. Yes, it was full of only good experiences Amanda! ๐Ÿ˜€ I did have food poisoning one night but I quickly recovered as I only ate fruits and drank a lot of water the other whole day ๐Ÿ™‚ And carefully chose the restaurants afterwards hehe.

      3. It was a lot of nasty puking ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Plus some upset tummy too. Felt bad the entire next day and couldn’t sleep at the night, but I am lucky I recovered so quick! I had eaten some stir-fry glass noodles with chicken on a beachside restaurant which didn’t look too shabby.

Leave a Reply

