My experience with snowboarding

As I have mentioned in my previous blog posts, this winter has been very special here in Poland. We’ve had a lot of snow, and I am surprisingly in no hurry for spring to arrive. πŸ˜‰ This winter I also got into some winter sports that I had never tried before: I tried skiing for the first time in Slovakia last December and it didn’t go well at all. You can find my brief recount of thatΒ here. I have no intentions of trying skiing again because it was painful, uncomfortable and just not fun.:( No offense to people who enjoy skiing, I just quickly realized it’s not my thing!

IMG_20170128_154340.jpg
A few weeks ago on a beautiful day

My boyfriend pleaded me to give snowboarding a try however, so I thought I might as well. He recently got into snowboarding and has been passionate about it. While on the previous winters, we the people living in Central (and Northen) Poland had to travel down south to the mountains for these winter sports, this year due to a lot of snow, a small hill about 1 hour drive from Lodz has opened up forΒ skiing and snowboarding again. The hill is perfect for beginners like me, unlike the Low Tatras in Slovakia which I think had too steep slopes for beginners.

IMG_20170128_153228.jpg
Doesn’t it look beautiful?

My snowboarding adventure started a couple of weeks ago. On the first day, I took 2-hours class from an instructor who showed me a few basics, but I wasn’t really satisfied with the lesson. I had big problems getting up from falls and when I asked him the ways to get up, he said it should just come naturally. Oh well. By the end of 3-4 hours on the first day, I was able to snowboard for a bit, brake and change directions. The biggest problem was getting up from a fall. At one point I was down on the snow for 15 minutes until somebody gave me a hand because I just couldn’t get up. I was told by friends that getting up backwards is easier but at that point I didn’t know how to brake backwards.

IMG_20170205_145943.jpg
Snowboarding on cloudy day on small hill near Lodz

The second time was two weeks ago when I noticed that I didn’t have to put any efforts to get up. It did come naturally like the instructor had said. πŸ˜€ I learned going backwards a bit and enjoyed snowboarding down the hill without much difficulty. I must have fell about 50 times during the whole day, but it didn’t feel as many as the first time. It was a definite improvement. Learning how to snowboard backwards was the most challenging, but I made some baby steps until we were too exhausted to continue snowboarding.

IMG_20170211_090430.jpg
We caught a beautiful day last weekend

The last time I went snowboarding was last Saturday. It was a beautiful, sunny day and after doing a few practice rounds down the hill, I started getting the hang of it. My boyfriend pointed out a few things I was doing wrong: like I was snowboarding down the slope with the board almost completely horizontal which means I was braking constantly. That was causing my knees to ache while snowboarding. The moment I changed the snowboard to point downward vertically, the speed increased considerably and the knee pain eased, so that was fun. I’ve made slight progress snowboarding backwards (on toes) but I haven’t tried that yet on a steep slope as falling backwards head first is quite painful.

aa
Trying hard

We are really lucky this year as the ski hill near Lodz is still open, so maybe after we’re back from the Philippines (in about 3 weeks, leaving this Saturday) the place will be still open. I hope so because I still want to practice. What I really enjoy about snowboarding is that we snowboard down the hill a few times and stop at the restaurant for hot mulled beer/wine, so that helps us stay warm. I even noticed a restaurant selling grilled Polish sausages at one of the restaurants last time, so I was elated πŸ˜€ My body was sore the next morning to the point that I couldn’t walk, but it was all muscle pain so everything was fine by Sunday afternoon. I should try to stay in shape regularly, as snowboarding is very physically demanding.

bb
Excited to snowboard

I’ve noticed that skiing/snowboarding are popularΒ activities here in Poland, the number of parents teaching their little ones how to snowboard or ski amazes me and some of the little ones are already so good at it!Β Please share if it’s also popular where you live. And do you ski or snowboard? Or any winter sports? If not, would you like to give them a try?Β 

27 thoughts on “My experience with snowboarding

  1. I learned snowboarding when I got bored of skiing around the age of 17. It was so hard to learn but after a few hours I was able to brake, change directions and survive going down the slope. But the muscle pain was just evil the following week. I think I was only snowboarding twice or something like that. Still got the snowboard in my cottage in Finland

    1. Oh I understand the muscle pain and the difficulty to learn.. But if I compare it with skiing, I’d say for me the first(and last) day of skiing was much more difficult than first day at snowboarding.. You didn’t want to continue snowboarding after those few times? πŸ™‚

  2. Brave girl! I am curious about how you get up after falling? I can imagine that it is difficult. I saw that the shoe is firmly attached to the snowboard, right? And which one is less painful snowboarding or skiing :)?

    1. Well you just have to get up with your body strength if you fall forward(legs/snowboard in front), especially the midriff section, which in my case was weak I guess as I didn’t have the strength to push through. Also I had to be careful to brake immediately after getting up as I would otherwise just slide down. I personally found skiing more painful on the first day, but I heard from other people (who have done both regularly) that snowboarding is harder to master. With snowboarding you use intense leg muscle strength so it can continue being painful for the first few times.. Skiing after you get through the basics is I suppose easier and less painful for overall body..Which one do you want to try? πŸ˜€

  3. I tried Skiing last winter and I can relate somewhat with your experience. My friends said that first timers will either love it or hate it. For me I kinda liked it even though I fell quite too often and could not get up at all πŸ˜€ I may try Snowboarding if I find sometime before spring arrives. Did you find snowboarding to be easier than skiing?

    1. Oh yes, I struggled with getting up from a fall while on the first day of skiing too. But later once I knew the technique it was pretty easy. I had bigger problems getting up while on the first day at snowboarding. I can tell you from my experience that snowboarding might be harder to learn at the beginning, but I definitely found it to be more fun than skiing πŸ˜€ Snowboarding boots aren’t as uncomfortable as ski boots so that might have helped too! πŸ˜€

  4. Ahh good for you for learning how to snowboard!! πŸ™‚ Here in Toronto it’s also very popular to ski or snowboard. I just learned how to snowboard recently as well and went 3 times so far. It’s not easy and I fell soooooo much! But I guess no pain no gain, right? Haha but I’ve picked up a lot! Keep learning don’t give up! πŸ™‚

    1. Hi Jessica. Oh so we’re similarly skilled in snowboarding I guess πŸ˜€ The pain is worth it I think! I just came back from a 2 weeks vacation and all the snow is gone 😦 Maybe I’ll go to the mountains on the South for some snowboarding before summer this year. πŸ™‚ You guys still have snow over there?

      1. Taking a trip of the mountains on the South sounds great! πŸ™‚ Winter on our side here was pretty short this year so we don’t have much snow left, so I’ll have to wait until November/December this year when winter is back πŸ™‚

  5. I’m going snowboarding in 2 weeks for the first time in a couple of years. I do remember being so sore afterwards, but it was still a great time. It’s a lot of fun to be going down a mountain that fast. Glad you got out and learned it!

  6. Funny thing, Pooja, but although I look out for all your posts, I somehow missed this one. Am I too late to comment ? I was smiling because you look like an astronaut in one of the pictures. Maybe snowboarding is a bit like astronauting anyway. Do you still have any snow left there ? We are quickly moving into summer here with loads of sunshine. Have a nice day, Pooja,. From Dai in sun drenched Lisbon

    1. Hi Dai. No, it’s not too late to comment πŸ™‚ Hmm I’d say scuba diving recently (in Palawan) felt like astronauting – not really snowboarding, because you have to put a lot of muscle effort into it. No more snow here Dai. It’s all melted and the temperature is in plus but still chilly (around 2 or 3 degrees). I am eagerly waiting for spring here, Dai! πŸ™‚

      1. Hi Pooja and ekdum good morning. You’d never guess what I’m doing, something I hate doing: Cleaning bundles of spinach and cooking & freezing subjee. If you can get here in the next couple of hours you can help hehehe. Kumar arrived home at 11:30 pm yesterday after going to the wholesale market and he had another 6 kilos of potatoes, carrots and bundles of spinach and broccoli. He doesn’t actually pay but he gets stuff free which is past the sell-by date and we sort it into good and bad here. He goes there with his boss to buy for the shop nearby. Do you need any vegetables ? What will you do today, Pooja ? I’ll be standing at the kitchen sink for hours, doing what I hate the best. HELP.

      2. Hi Dai. So you’re really busy there today in the kitchen πŸ˜€ How do you make your spinach subjee Dai? Sounds like a good deal that Kumar made with veggies – fresh vegetables are always good! I love that summer is coming here because I can buy some local vegetables. You could send me some πŸ˜€ I just made a lunch of chicken curry in tomato gravy with rice. Met up with some Nepali friends and I have some buff dried meat brought by a Nepali from Nepal to enjoy today πŸ˜€ Do you like those, Dai?

      3. Um, sorry Pooja, but I’m not much of a meat person. My two exceptions are fish and chicken breast. Spinach is easy but the washing and cutting is a bit time consuming. Fry some garlic in EV olive oil. Add haldi, ginger, chilli powder, curry powder, salt, ground flax seeds, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds. Add the spinach and boil like hell for ten minutes. That’s it, Pooja. That chicken curry in tomato gravy sounds perfect to me as long as you weren’t tempted to add onions.

  7. I have taken a short break from blogging so am now catching up on all your posts. I love the snow – as much as you do, by the sounds of it! I ski, but still think I am an advanced beginner. Snowboarding is I feel for younger people. When I have been skiing, I see a few nasty accidents on snowboards. Skiing feels a little safer for me…..but both are fun, fun, fun!

    1. Hi Amanda. Welcome back and nice to see you here πŸ™‚
      I love the snow too! I realized it from last year hehe. I tried skiing last year in Slovakia, and it was a very painful experience, therefore I changed to snowboarding, also encouraged by my boyfriend.
      I agree that snowboarding seems to be more risky and for younger people! But I enjoyed snowboarding more, definitely! You can go skiing/ snowboarding in Australia? How far do you have to go? The ski season is almost over here in Poland..

      1. There is only a very small area that receives snow in Australia and they have to supplement the runs with snow making machines at times. It is ‘wet’ snow and lasts for about 6 -8 weeks It is in the aptly called ‘Snowy Mountains’ about 1 and a half days drive from here. 🌨🌨🌨

      2. Oh yes. 3 -4 hours in the plane!! But you cannot stay ‘on snow’ in New Zealand as the resorts are all in the National parks and a good 40 minute drive to get to ski fields. In Australia you can ski from your front door if there is enough snow!

Leave a Reply

