Updates from Lodz

Summer, anxiety over completing thesis and graduating, traveling and devouring the foods with no second thoughts this year did a lot to my weight. I finally decided to join the gym after a gap of around 5 months, last week. I have never been this heavy and I certainly do not enjoy having to squeeze into my clothes and sporting a growing belly. So, something serious had to be done about it.

From last week, I am following a diet plan and sweating at the gym 3 days a week. I have also taken up walking to and back from work (about 35 minutes one way). Walking to and from work has been such a pleasant decision, not only it helps in keeping me fit, but I also get to escape the slow, jam-packed public transportation at office hours. The first day at gym after such a long break was terrible. I couldn’t even run on the treadmill for 10 minutes straight. I however think that more than physical stamina itself, it’s the brain that leads us into undermining our true physical strengths. The other day was better as I did complete the 10 continuous minutes, while ignoring my brain’s cries to stop.

I am three days away from Saturday, which I have allocated as a cheat day and I cannot wait. Almost four days of eating only fruits, vegetables and baked and boiled stuff is really taking its toll though. All I can think about is food, all sorts of food. Especially unhealthy and highly caloric with zero nutritional value ones. But I’ve given up so many times already and I don’t want to this time. I want to see what results hard work, dedication and consistency can produce. The reason I am blogging about this is that it makes things more formal and public and will help (I hope) to stick to my plan of losing 6 kgs within 2-3 months.

Currently, my diet plan consists of food items like this:

  • Lot of green tea.
  • Zero artificial sugar.
  • Lean meat, like chicken and other good sources of proteins like tofu, eggs, soya, fish, legumes etc. All baked, boiled or cooked with no more than 1 table spoon of olive oil.
  • Fruits: apples, oranges and kiwifruit, mostly.
  • Salad (without dressing) for lunch.
  •  Snacks such as raw carrots and cucumbers.
  • Oatmeal, brown/black rice or baked potatoes for dinner.

I am still looking for delicious, low-calories, healthy meal ideas on the internet. So far, except for the craving of unhealthy food, I feel good about myself. I just need to remember to be consistent. There’s one day a week that I can satisfy my cravings and not make my body suffer.

I am also about to join Polish language course. I went to the lessons for observing yesterday and I have decided to join the group that’s doing A2 level and do the last bits of A2 course. They are soon going to promote to B1. I don’t need Polish language for work, but my manager thinks that fluency in Polish could contribute to my personal growth as I can take part in external training, meetings and workshops. I am very positive about the idea and would like to see how far I can go. I’ve only studied basics of Polish formally for 3 months. Everything else that I know has been from hearing, speaking and hearing . The teacher at the course sounds lovely, and I am already pretty good at understanding and speaking everyday Polish. What I do need to heavily work on is the grammar and vocabulary. It is a difficult language with a lot of crazy sounds and grammar and very different from my mother tongue, but anything can be done with practice, consistency and dedication. I want to be able to read Polish newspapers and pretty much understand the content.

IMG_20150823_114506
Was so happy that I understood the notice! “Freshly painted”

 

 

5 thoughts on “Updates from Lodz

  1. Great plan! I also decided it is time again to get in shape after even having to buy new clothes this year as everything got too small (mostly due to my bad health and medication though but still it won’t disappear when getting slowly healthy…).
    I have been going to gym three times a week and 2-3 times a week some little workout at home. Sadly I realized that I certainly eat too much too quickly so I decided to do something drastic…not eating anything for 3-4 days in order to get the stomach a tad smaller/ needing less food to get full once I slowly start eating again bit by bit. Right now I am on day three, I never felt hungry the entire time ( very surprising!) only drank tea, water, some protein shakes and vegetable broth to get the needed salts into the system. Weird enough I actually gained half kilo during this period…

    1. Wow, that sounds so hard to do. Are you sure it’s not risky to your health? I couldn’t go on without at least one proper hot meal a day.. It could be harder for you to resist eating too much because you’re a Chinese-European family! 🙂 I love Asian food. Good thing I and my boyfriend are both doing diet, so it’s easier to keep up!

      1. These few days are not dangerous as I am getting the needed salts etc from the broth. A friend of my had to do this for 9days several years ago while doing full practice for Olympic Games (6hours practice a day) because the doctor ordered so. He had no trouble as well doing it 🙂

  2. Hey Pooja! Sounds like a good plan 🙂 I am trying to eat only healthy food too…but mostly I give up and have to eat chocolate once a while haha;)
    I love green tea though, and it tastes better when you squeeze a bit of lemon in it 🙂

    Good luck and lots of kisses from Belgium!

    Ania

Leave a Reply

