10 days in Poland

I regret that I couldn’t come up with this post earlier, but my life had been a crazy whirlwind in the past couple of weeks. After my return to Finland from Portugal, school continued only for a week or so and we were out for summer break. I had no special plans for summer since most of my good friends had moved to Helsinki.

The thought of Poland came out all of a sudden. I don’t usually like traveling by myself to new places, but I had a gut feeling that this trip would go well. I had a few Polish friends and I was sure everything would turn out alright.

Every time I heard ‘Poland’ when I was little (in Nepal), green hills and vodka came to my mind. I didn’t get to see hills after I landed in Gdansk from Turku (after 1,5 short hours), but my impression about vodka indeed deemed true.

I had nine days in my pocket for this trip and it was indeed not enough to know the country well, but I hoped to make the most of it. I was lucky enough to be well taken care of by S, whom I had met in Porto a month earlier. It took off huge burdens off my shoulders, like figuring out the ways, checking out maps, having to communicate with passers-by for directions etc, all without knowing anything of the very complicated language of the country.

Β I had scheduled to spend about six days in the North side of the country nearby a place called Wladyswawowo. The other strong impression I had about Poland right from the beginning was what it looked like its impossible-to-master language. It later took me about 4 days after reaching the place to be able to pronounce the name even remotely correctly.ImageJastrzebia Gora was the exact location where I would be staying at for another six days. I have always been a big fan of big water bodies (seas and oceans), partly due to the fact that I come from a landlocked country. I was more than happy to be spending my time in the Polish coast by the Baltic sea.

Weather wasn’t the best that I hoped for, but I am able to enjoy even cloudy and gloomy days as long as it’s not freezing. It wasn’t very sunny, but at least I wasn’t shivering. Living in Finland makes you crave for a plus temperature. The place seemed hip, with a lot of small cafes, stalls and shops in the street. We found our way to the beach (plaza in Polish, if I remembered it right) the other day.

The tides weren’t so high and it looked very calm. From a distance, the blue calm sea and the white sand alongside made a breathtaking view, although the weather was gloomy. A few people, some little school students on a summer excursion I assume, seemed to be basking the little sun rays hidden among the clouds.

ImageImageThe water was too cold for a dive but the sand was remarkably soft and clean. I was enjoying lying on the sand and feeling the cold breeze. I went it to feel the water and it was too cold for a swim. The surface was even and looked good for a dip had it been warmer.

Image

It was a dull day but I was nevertheless enjoying every moment of being in an interesting country for the holidays. Our days were mostly passing by lazing around, eating and eventually finding the way to the beach. The next day, we discovered a shortcut from the forest to the other beach. It was a warm, sunny day and the beach looked less crowded than the one we had been on the previous day. The vibrance, the time of the day, the blue sea and the sailing ships on the distance made me feel like I was on a getaway paradise somewhere much farther than Poland.

Image
The shortcut we discovered!
Image
Someone had dumped this on the beach!
Image
Loved the waves!

ImageMore to be continued.

One thought on “10 days in Poland

Leave a Reply

