Helsinki night out

I am gonna make this more text at the moment because the internet here in Porto is really slow.
My excitement of going to Portugal had almost vanished for no apparent reason until I met my dear friend last night at Helsinki and celebrated Nepali New Year’s Eve (2070, Yay!). It was then when I realized that I was indeed sitting on the plane the next morning at 6 in the morning. We arrived to Helsinki with a team of people from school in order to fly to Portugal. We had an overnight stay at a hotel in Helsinki and I thought of getting out and meeting my friends although the weather was really shitty plus we arrived there late.

However, it was New Year’s Eve, so I met up with A and we hanged around. At that point, I wanted to go to her apartment rather than taking the bus to the hotel we were staying at for Portugal flight. We spontaneously made a last minute plan of going to the Aussie bar, and ended up staying until 1! (I had to wake up at 4 the other day). Catching up with friend in a city that I love so much was enthralling. We chatted, drank some quality Australian beer (which was very good by the way!) and hanged around at the bar. I had to get on a bus at 1:18 to get to the hotel in Vantaa (near to the Helsinki airport). I was part drunk, very tired, very sleepy when I departed ways with my friend. I knew I had a very good chance of getting lost so I turned on the GPS and paid attention. However, the battery of my phone died out. And I got down at a stop that I presumed was the correct one. HOWEVER. I ended up losing the track. There I am, at 2 in the morning on a weekend night, having to wake up at 4 for an early flight the other morning, in the middle of the road.

I kept walking and walking, trying to figure out where exactly I was. I spotted two people walking on the street and asked them for direction, but maybe it was their English, their description, I later found out, was completely opposite. I tried to revive my battery time and again, and could see on the GPS that I was walking the opposite direction. But then again my battery would die. Finally I spotted two girls in the street who gave me proper directions. and there I was, with a big relief sigh, in front of the hotel. It was about 3 when I got back to the room and I woke up at 4 to take the flight to Porto. Phew. One hell of a night. Crazy, memorable, fantastic. I have a buzz that my new year ahead will be a great one!

PS I am already in warm, sunny Porto. More on that later.

Image

Leave a Reply

